Friday, August 14, 2009

Summer 2009 Issue has arrived!

So, it usually takes me a few days to shake the cobwebs out of my head after I've finished an issue. We have though, as you can tell, published another round of great fiction and an amazing interview with Stuart Dybek. Bravo. Bravo.

The winners of the Emerging Writer Award are as follows:

First Place:
Shane Kraus for the story "Negotiating the Truth"

Second Place:
Caroline Bailey Lewis for the story, "Gutter"

Runners up:
Erik Hoel for the story "Big Cats"
Cynthia Hawkins for the story "Hope before 3:15"

This year we had a number of exceptional stories that deserved honorable mention and I'm proud to list those stories here.

Donna Walker-Nixon "Other Toys"
Jennifer Lee "Cobra"
Jim Miller "Frequency of Failure"
Taylor Brown "Manatee"
David Breitkopf "No Problem"
Daryl Morazzini"When They Come"

It is my hope that these authors will think of us (as will all the rest of you who submitted during this contest) when they work on their stories through another draft and decide to send them out again.

Thanks to everyone who submitted to the contest and we look forward to another great round of fiction in a couple of months.

No comments: